Creating a Table Based On Two Records And Corresponding Field Values

tfixnicholas

I am a beginner at Access, can understand some basic VBA and I have a very tricky problem ahead of me.

I have one table with many records and many fields. For simplicity, here's a mini version.

Building NameSystem1System2System3System4
BLD1System1ASystem2CSystem 3FSystem4A
BLD2System1BSystem2BSystem 3CSystem4A
BLD3System1ASystem 2ASystem 3CSystem4C

<tbody>
</tbody>

In my real table there is about 1000 records and 25 Systems (fields)

I have a form with two subforms, each subform allows me to select one record from the table.

Let's say I selected BLD1 and Bld3, I want to create a button that will take the two selected records and create a table similar to the one below.

SystemBld1Bld3
System1System1ASystem1A
System2System2CSystem 2A
System3System 3FSystem 3C
System4System4ASystem4C

<tbody>
</tbody>

(The actual end result would have about 25 records, one for each system.

What is the best way to go about accomplishing this?

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.
You might have to do it in two parts and it will be a lot of work because what you're trying to do is TRANSPOSE columns into rows. To go the other way, we have the built in cross tab query. What you want to do will require a UNION query. To transpose columns to rows:
Code:
SELECT System1 AS Bld1 FROM TableName WHERE System1 Is Not Null AND [Building Name] = "BLD1" 
UNION ALL
SELECT System2 AS Bld1 FROM TableName WHERE System2 Is Not Null AND [Building Name] = "BLD1" 
UNION ALL
SELECT System3 AS Bld1 FROM TableName WHERE System3 Is Not Null AND [Building Name] = "BLD1" 
UNION ALL
SELECT System4 AS Bld1 FROM TableName WHERE System4 Is Not Null AND [Building Name] = "BLD1" 
repeat for Bld3.