Create a query

Carrie

I am relatively new to Access. I can do simple queries and such but I am running into a problem.

I am trying to take this spreadsheet.
Staff Listing 10.2003.xls
ABCDEFGHIJ
1ActiveSupportServicesStaff(IncludesTemp)
2CENTRALEASTWESTEDIATSCRMSPDeptDirectorOverall
3SR.Mgmt.111111118
4TeamManagers35242319
5FLS2737.52589.5
6HWFLS1310326
7EDIAnalysts5151
8ATSAnalysts2020
9Dispatch1312530
10Admin/Other110024
11NCRCustomerLiaisons33
12TOTAL5866.5365623731250.5
Sheet1

It is kind of hard to see in the black but I am trying to recreate this Datasheet in Access.

I have the table in Access set up. My concern is with the information in black. I need to recreate this in Access. I don't know how I can do this. So far, I have come up with individual queries such as:

SELECT Sum([Support Services]!Div Like "C" And [Support Services]!Position Like "FLS Division Manager")*-1 AS [Senior Management], Sum([Support Services]![Div] Like "C" And [Support Services]![Position] Like "Team Manager")*-1 AS [Team Managers], Sum(([Support Services]![Div] Like "C") And ([Support Services]![Position] Like "FLS Analyst" Or [Support Services]![Position] Like "Team Lead"))*-1 AS [FLS Analysts], Sum([Support Services]![Div] Like "C" And [Support Services]![Position] Like "FLS HW Analyst")*-1 AS [FLS HW Analysts], Sum([Support Services]![Div] Like "C" And [Support Services]![Position] Like "Dispatcher")*-1 AS Dispatch, Sum([Support Services]![Div] Like "C" And [Support Services]![Position] Like "Admin")*-1 AS [Admin/Other], Sum([Support Services]![Div] Like "C")*-1 AS Total
FROM [Support Services];

This basically shows column C2:C12 in the XL Sheet above. I have done this with each division.

Is there a way to create this in Access so that it looks similar to XL?

Keep in mind that don't know SQL...Design View is my best friend.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?