Copy a sheet which is a template based on a drop down list and rename each copied tab with each value in the drop down list

onche414

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

I am new to VBA and trying to create a code to avoid copying manually.
I have a sheet which is a template called "New Template". In that sheet I have a drop down list in cell A13.
I want to create a code which will copy this sheet based on the values on that drop down list.

For example, if in A13 i have the following values : Apple, Orange, Cherry.
The code would put the values Apple on the cell, copy the sheet, then put the value Orange copy the sheet and then put the value Cherry and copy the sheet again. At the end I would have 3 sheets
Additionally, I would like to rename the tab with the values in the drop down list (so the sheet is renamed with Apple, Orange and Cherry).

This is the code I did for now. But it only copies the first value of the list. it does not go through it

VBA Code:
Sub DupliSheets()
Dim sh1 As Worksheet, c As Range

Set sh1 = Sheets("New Template")

For Each c In sh1.Range("A13")
    sh1.Copy After:=Sheets(Sheets.Count)
    ActiveSheet.Name = c.Value

Next
End Sub

Thank you for your help

Excel Facts

Select all contiguous cells
Pressing Ctrl+* (asterisk) will select the "current region" - all contiguous cells in all directions.
Hello and welcome to the forum!

I believe the problem is you're attempting to extract multiple values from only one cell.

Is your dropdown list linked to a range of cells perhaps?

Not knowing everything about your sheet, here's my suggestion:

If the dropdown values aren't linked to a range, i would create a range on a sheet (later to be hidden). For example, let's say it's Cells A1:A6 in Sheet HideMe.

Then, I would modify your code thusly:

VBA Code:
Sub DupliSheets()

Dim rngList As Range

Set rngList = Sheets("HideMe").Range("A1:A6")

For Each c In rngList  '   sh1.Range("A13")

sh1.Copy _