Complete Access Newbie

willlobb

Board Regular
Hi,

I've been using FileMaker Pro for a long time now, but have been asked to create a database for my company in MS Access. :rolleyes:

I've never used access before and have already become a bit stuck...in FMP, u can draw a portal, drag the related fields u want to show into the portal and there u have it - all the related records are shown.

In Access, i'm guessing I have to use a Subform? (correct me if i'm wrong!). but the whole process just seems far more complicated than it is in FMP.

Can anyone tell me if i seem to be doing this right? and if not, what should I be doing? or is there an easier way?

Many thanks in advance!

Will

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
Hi,

The details you give are fairly sketchy, so it's difficult to work out exactly what you are trying to do...

However, if you are trying to create a form to display fields from a number of related tables, you can do this via a query, making that query the basis of your form - i.e. you do not necessarily need a subform.

Some details of your table set-up, the relationships & the fields you want on your form would help people here to help you with your issues. You might also find that Grover Park George's book is a great help to you - I have not read it, but the guy has helped me on numerous occasions over at the UA board and know's his stuff!

HTH

Upvote 0
Thanks very much for your reply...

I work for a ship management company. I'm making a database to display info on all the Cadet Deck/Engineer officers.

The database has 10 related tables and one main form (Cadet Form) from which all the required data is displayed/entered.