Close a query

Andrew13

I'm new to Access so I'm not sure if this is possible, however what my database does is run 28 individual checks from an imported excel spreadsheet and filters it to only show any errors.
The errors rarely occur and so it can be reasonably time consuming clicking through the 28 queries that have opened only to find that they are empty due to no errors being found - the database itself works correctly otherwise.

Is it possible to have a seperate query that automatically closes any of these 28 queries if they don't return any data?

Excel Facts

When they said...
When they said you are going to "Excel at life", they meant you "will be doing Excel your whole life".
If you make a form, then create a button. In the code behind the button, here's an example for two queries:

Code:
Private Sub Command0_Click()

DoCmd.OpenQuery "CloseEmpty"
If DCount("ID", "CloseEmpty") < 1 Then DoCmd.Close acQuery, "CloseEmpty"

DoCmd.OpenQuery "CloseEmpty2"
If DCount("ID", "CloseEmpty2") < 1 Then DoCmd.Close acQuery, "CloseEmpty2"

End Sub

It's a bit clumsy, but all you have to do is make the same code for each query, one below the other, then when you press the button, the queries will all open.

Upvote 0
You could also write a piece of code that passes each query name to a function, then creates a recordset. If the recordset count is not 0 then you could do just about anything with that info: dump the records and query name to a temp table and run a report on it, simply add the query names to a message box, create a recordset clone from those queries with records, simply don't close the query so you can view it, etc...

Upvote 0
A bit more writing, but your approach should be to first consider creating functions that can be reused many times - in your current project or even in others down the road. So as a rough outline and in that vein, consider this in the code for, perhaps a click event:

Code:
Dim lngRecCount as Long