changing a Null into a 0 VALUE

BAMF

Board Regular
I am having trouble making the Zero from a NZ function into a Currency Value. Someone told me to use VAL, but I can't get it to go.

The first column/expression (I dunno what you call it, I am pretty new to Access) has a list of Distributors.
The next column is a number value (shown as a currency) which I calculated in another query. However, there are only a few number values, the rest are null.
In the next column, I typed:
Purchases: NZ([TotalAmount],0)
The result does not return Currency values (for the 0's or previous dollar amounts). I tried to change it under properties, Format, Currency, but that doesn't work there. I am not sure if this is because the 0's are "string variables" or because I can't change the properties of an extension to a currency amount.

I am sure there are several ways to do this, and I am open to any that someone might know. If you need more information, please feel free to ask, that was kinda hard to describe. Thank you for any replies.

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
Hi,

To get the null values showing as zero (per your topic heading) use the following formula :

IIf(IsNull(Sum([your value variable name])),0,Sum([your value variable name]))

AND change the "Sum" in the "Total" part of the query to "Expression".

To format the value as currency, use this instead :

Format(IIf(IsNull(Sum([your value variable name])),0,Sum([your value variable name])),"Currency")

AND don't forget to change the "Sum" in the "Total" part of the query to "Expression".

To get the characters "NZ" in front of the value (I'm not sure if this is what you want or not but given I am from NZ I'm going to tell you anyway :biggrin: ) that is formatted as a currency, use this instead :