Can Access be used for non-relational data sets?

Factotum

Board Regular
I'm very new to Access, but fairly comfortable with Excel (including VBA). Maybe there's a better way to do this, but I basically want to use Access the same as Excel (non-relational data sets), since Access can handle more data.

I maintain an Excel spreadsheet with 6 sheets. I want to be able to have six non-relational tables/data sets in Access, each with company wide data. I then want to build a macro in an Excel spreadsheet that will go to each of the six tables in Access, extract data for a certain Department ID, and pull that data into Excel.

So I'll have six non-relational data sets in Access with several hundred thousand rows of data in each. A macro will extract a couple hundred lines from each data set and import it to corresponding sheets in Excel. This will allow users to easily extract data specific to their assignment from data sets that contain everything.

Is this even possible/advisable? Or is there a better approach to take? Thank you in advance!

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
So long as there is a common key that links the tables, you may be able to get what you need. You do need to understand that Access does not operate in a manner similar to Excel. You need to have your data tables normalized, no repeating data and Primary keys and Foreign keys to join tables in queries (SQL) to get your results.

Upvote 0
Thanks for your feedback. I know Access is not intended to work like Excel - I was just wondering if it could be forced to for this one project. I could come up with a common key to link all the tables (department ID), but I don't think I could normalize the data, not without doing enough work to defeat the whole purpose.

Would you happen to know of anything else that could house nearly a million rows of data and then use Excel to just extract the subset I need?

Upvote 0