Calculations between records in a table

awill110

First of all, I am totally new to Access and have a decent amount of experience with Excel. I do not know VBA or SQL.

I have taken on what I thought was going to be an easy project. Our Accounting department currently does a lot of manual work and uses a lot of paper, so I thought an Access database would be perfect for their needs. They currently download a report from one payroll system, do a bunch of reformatting and calculations manually in Excel and then upload a CSV file into another payroll system. They also keep all of the reports that they download and upload printed in a binder for reference.

My goal is to create a database that will pull the data from the downloaded file, perform all of the calculations and formatting, then create a CSV ready to be uploaded. The database would also have a reporting feature so they could go back and pull up the data for any pay period if they needed it. I am probably going about it the long way, but I think I have most of the work done to get the results that I need. My main hang up right now is a calculation from the downloaded report.

I get all hours for the employees as separate records in the table. I need to take the vacation hours, sick hours, and so on for each salary employee and subtract them from the 40 hours per week that they get paid for. Here is an example of the data that I get:

Company CodeDepartmentLast NameFirst NameEmployeeEarnings CodeWorked DepartmentPay RateHoursDollarsDescription
DAK101-TECHJohnsonStephenDAK100999REGSAL101-TECH0400Salary Regular Hours
DAK101-TECHJohnsonStephenDAK100999VACATION101-TECH0120Vacation
DAK101-TECHJohnsonStephenDAK100999SICK101-TECH080Sick

<colgroup><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col><col></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>