Calculating time

SlinkRN

I'm new to Access, so this question may be very basic - sorry. I have a database that has a table which is entered into by a form. I want to calculate "TimeInHospital" (in minutes) which is "TimeOfDischarge" minus "TimeOfAdmit". These times are all less than a day - usually just an hour or two. I'd like to use military time to enter admit and discharge time (which I did by using short time). I made a query and used the formula builder to build the formula to subtract admit time from discharge time. The result of the calculation is way off the way I'm doing it. Is there a special way of calculating military time? BTW, it didn't work when I used regular time either. o_O Can anyone help?

Excel Facts

Highlight Duplicates
Home, Conditional Formatting, Highlight Cells, Duplicate records, OK to add pink formatting to any duplicates in selected range.
Hi,

First of all, a bit about how Access stores date values. All dates are stored as a numeric value with 0 being 30th December 1899, 1 being 31st December 1899, 2 being 1st January 1900 and so on. Time of day is stored as a fractional part of the number e.g. :-

37838 represents midnight on the 5th August 2003. 37838.5 represents midday on the 5th August 2003, etc.

When you subtract one date from another you will end up with a number which represents the number of days between the two dates. If the two dates are the same day then you will end up with a fractional number.

The easiest way to return the number of minutes between two date/time values is to use the DateDiff function (see VBA help for full description of this). Try something like this in your query:-

TimeInHospital: DateDiff("n",[TableName]![TimeOfAdmit],[TableName]![TimeOfDischarge])

Upvote 0