Calculating Time Duration

Avanz

Office Version
  1. 2021
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Everyone,

I am so happy to have found this forum. I will try and explain my question as best as I can, but I’m a beginner user so please feel free to ask me questions to explain anything further.

At work I am meant to calculate the durations between Arrival & Departures times for certain items. I am able to easily do this by Changing the times to hh:mm AM/PM and then using =(Departure-Arrival) to get the duration.

However, I struggle when the Arrival times in the sheet is different from “Given Times”.

So sometimes the goods come early or later than given times. If they arrive early I have to calculate the duration between Given time - departure and if they arrive late, I have to calculate the duration between Arival time and departure.

I have been doing manually everyday for 50+ Items and absolutely sick of it. Is there any easier way to do this?

Thank You!

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.
as we cannot see a sample set of data
how about

=IF ( Arrival time < Given time , Given time - departure , Arrival time and departure )

Not sure why you have to do this
I am able to easily do this by Changing the times to hh:mm AM/PM and then using =(Departure-Arrival) to get the duration.
Unless the time is in text format - But again, not being able to see the data , can not advise really

Note: Images are difficult to see , and also requires that I input all the data myself, which is very time consuming.

A SMALL sample spreadsheet, around 10-20 rows, would help a lot here, with all sensitive data removed, and expected results mocked up and manually entered, with a few notes of explanation.

MrExcel has a tool called “XL2BB” that lets you post samples of your data and will allow us to copy/paste your sample data into our Excel spreadsheets, saving a lot of time.