Calculating payroll in access

chegra26

Board Regular
I have a database where I am tracking training activities for employees where different activities may be paid on different dates. For instance I have
(field, check box) 4 hr safety training (field, 4 hr pay date)
(field, check box) 2 hr safety training (field, 2 hr pay date)
(field, check box) SPED training (field, SPED pay date)
(field, check box) Paperwork (field, Paperwork pay date)

These activities can be performed on different days so therefore may have different pay dates
Is there any way within a query that I can create a calculation that will calculate only those activities where the pay date is blank.

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
I am not an Access expert, but I messed around with it and I couldn't get it to work, until....
I went back to the table that I was doing a query on, and I checked the field properties of the data type for the date column.
On the "required" setting I had it set on " No ".
Once I changed that to " Yes " and saved the changes, the query worked...

Oh, also, I used the ISNULL function as a criteria...
{ Notice for the expression I had to reference the table it came from and not the query itself...}

(((IsNull([Vehicle ID]![State Registration]))<>False))

I hope that gets you there...

Upvote 0
I have a database where I am tracking training activities for employees where different activities may be paid on different dates. For instance I have
(field, check box) 4 hr safety training (field, 4 hr pay date)...
These activities can be performed on different days so therefore may have different pay dates
Is there any way within a query that I can create a calculation that will calculate only those activities where the pay date is blank.