Calculated field - another table

paddydive

Hi,

I have 2 Tables Emp_add and State.

Emp_add Table contains details of employee address
State table contains City and its respective State

I am creating a Master Table which has details off all employees which comes from Employee Table.

what I am trying to achieve is in my Master table there should be a calculated field named as State which will pickup the correct state name from "State" table based on the City.

Sorry I am new to Access but in terms of Excel, it is just like Vlookup if we change the city the state will update automatically.

Is there any way we can achieve this...

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Highlight Duplicates
Home, Conditional Formatting, Highlight Cells, Duplicate records, OK to add pink formatting to any duplicates in selected range.
You would do it in the table. There should be no dependencies between fields in properly created normalized database.
You would do it in a query, doing a left join between these two tables on the City field.

However, I would strongly caution against doing this. The reason being is different states can have some of the same city names. Here is the US, a ton of States have city names like Springfield or Washington.
What you typically see if the complete address exist in one table (and not a link to another table like you are describing).
What you are describing would only work well if City name is a Unique field, which it really isn't guaranteed to be.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
The reason being is different states can have some of the same city names. Here is the US, a ton of States have city names like Springfield or Washington.
What you typically see if the complete address exist in one table (and not a link to another table like you are describing).
What you are describing would only work well if City name is a Unique field, which it really isn't guaranteed to be.

Thanks Joe4 for quick reply.

Yes I do have unique City name ... and