Automatically update field?

Nathan Barley

Hi,

I'm trying to transition a personnel tracking spreadsheet I made into Access. It's my first time using Access, so I'm learning as I am going along, but things are proceeding pretty well so far.

I've ran into a few roadblocks though, and hope someone here can help me.
In my spreadsheet, I had a protected field that denoted the status of that entry, and automatically updated itself with a value depending on what values were entered into certain other fields in that entry by the user.

For example, if someone's name was entered in the "Person Assigned" field, the protected field would update to say "Assigned". If the date the client had requested the assignment commence has past, the field would update to say "Overdue". (Requested Date < Today)

Would I create these values in one of the tables, or is it something that is better left on the form, for Access to calculate on the fly? How would I go about accomplishing this?

Thanks for any help or pointers.

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
In Access, values that are dependant upon values usually aren't saved, but calculated on the fly.

The reason for this being that anytime you changed the value of a field that affected this calculated field, every record would have to be updated. Instead, you can use a query with an expression field, and have that expression calculate the value based on the other fields (which are stored). Once you've made this query, you can refer to it instead of the source table, and you'll always have that calculated value accesible.

For example, say you had an employee table. Some fields in this table might be: Name, dateHired and dateReleased.