Adding Data to a Collection

kingofaces

Board Regular
Using collections is something I picked upon just recently, so I'm having a little trouble understanding why the current function returns a #Name error. Basically what I'm trying to do is add the y1 and y2 variables into a collection called ygroup. I'm then using a For Each loop to do a calculation for each of the y variables within y group. This is an example I have been tinkering with to try and understand how I could use collections in some of my larger projects, so any insight would go a long way. I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to collections and arrays, so maybe there is a much simpler solution if this isn't the most feasible method?

Code:
Function test(x, y1, y2) As Long
Dim ygroup As New Collection
Dim y As Long
test1 As Long

With ygroup
.Add Item:=y1
.Add Item:=y2
End With

For Each y In ygroup
Do
test1 = (x + y)
test = test + test1
Next y

End Function

I get the feeling I've just misunderstood how to properly enter the data into a collection after Googling various examples which didn't seem to explain the process very well for me.

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Code:
Sub Mytest()
    MsgBox fxTest(1, 2, 3)
End Sub

Function fxTest(x As Long, y1 As Long, y2 As Long) As Long

Dim ygroup As New Collection
    Dim y As Variant

With ygroup
        .Add Item:=y1
        .Add Item:=y2
    End With

For Each y In ygroup
        fxTest = fxTest + (x + y)
    Next y

End Function

Upvote 0