access formulas

peterengland

As part of this database I am creating there is a stock control side to it. The table that refers to the stock has the following fields: Stock code, stock description, stock level, Reorder level, Stock Status. There is also a stock form that allows the user to enter the stock details.

In the past when creating a stock system in excel I have created a formula that looks at the Stock level cell compares it with the reorder level cell and in the stock status cell returns ok if stock level is higher that reorder level or reorder if the opposite applies.

What I want to do is the same in access so on the stock form there is a field that states either ok or reorder which reacts to the information entered in stock level. I can then do a query to determine which items need reordering.

I am completely new to access so have no idea how to do this or even if this is possible. Any help would be much appreciated. I am currently using Access 2000. Kinds Regards Peter

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off
Hello Peter and welcome to Mr Excel.

This is definitely possible. However, when I read your post, I couldn't work out if you are entering the stock level into a proper form or directly into the table (you mentioned "cell" which is typical of entering data into a table).

If you are using a form then this is how you could update that field automatically :

Go into the form design, right click the 'stock_level' field (or whatever you have called it) -> click Properties -> Event Tab -> After Update -> Click the ... button to activate the Builder -> Code Builder -> Ok -> enter this (without the two outermost quotes) "[Status] = Iif([stock level] <= [reorder], "Reorder", "Ok") -> Save and close the VB window -> Save the form.

The code should look like this (before you close the VB window):
Code: