Access form Next record loop

Godders199

Office Version
  1. 2013
Hello, I am a beginner to Access, I have created a Database, Query and form which looks at the query results and updates the records. All this appears to work fine.

I have added a Button and used the wizard for it to be showing the next record when clicked. Which it does, however I just want it to loop through the records, currently it when it gets to the last row of the query it will just then show blank rows.

There is currently no VBA in the database.

The question is how do i get the next record button just to loop through the query results. Is there an option within the Design view or do I need to add code. If I need to add Code, could i have an example to follow.

Thanks for your help.

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
As far as I know, there is no way to loop through a query as it is developed from table data. You would have to develop a loop to go through your table applying the same criteria that you used to develop the query.

Here is an example of how to do a "Do Loop" that does what you are looking for, but from a table. It will require some modification to meet your specific needs, but it will demonstrate the basic procedure.

http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/flashfiles/vbadoloop.html

Last edited:
Upvote 0
You can avoid showing a blank record by making your form such that inserts are not allowed. This is a form property called Allow Additions- just set it to No on the property sheet for the form (under the Data tab).

For looping I'd advise against it. The simple way to do this is just to click the double arrows using the form record navigation buttons.
https://support.office.com/en-us/ar...database-705220B7-0255-4EF9-9349-6BD7442D1B7E