Access ER Data Model

Calgary_Neil

Board Regular
Hello

I have been looking for help to make sure that my data model is sound. I am new to access and have an old background (30yr) since I last played with a RDMS.

If need be I can write up some logic statements for this, but generally you must remember time (which creates the manys). i.e. An Unit has one Branch at a time, but may have many over time. Time is shown by the Change.WrkDate. The table Unit is really a place holder with the table Title holding all the proper names which change over time, so effectively it is three major tables (Unit, Title, Change), linked by smaller repetitive tables.

Some questions I have are:
1) I'm finding hard to enter data without forms because such small amount goes into each table. Is this typical?
2) I have dates in three locations (so they can repeat), but dates are important to me. Is this dangerous?
3) A lot of tables are repetitive but do show different aspects. Is there away of reducing the number of tables? (to make it clear and/or easier)

I can clarify any processes that are not clear, and will do what ever I need to get this model solid.

ER Model LineageDB.pdf
pg1
JW8pNR
pg2
JVUGe3

Hope the Jpg are readable

Thank you
Neil

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
Hi Neil,
I am not quite sure what you are exactly after...
Is this all about access or you are working with excel and access?
Maybe you can explain it with a small example what information you like to get out of the access database so it is easier to help.

Nice greetings

Albert

Upvote 0
Hello Wolf