A Steve Jobs perseverance story and the first computer

chuckchuckit

During the summer of 1970 we moved from the midwest to Los Altos, California before my senior year in high school. I graduated from Homestead High School in Cupertino in 1971. During my senior year I was in one of the electronics classes there. The electronics class teacher’s name was Mr. McCullom. We were learning to wire simple analog circuits on breadboards. We each stored our bread boards that we were working on in different drawers there in the electronics class.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
One day another student in my class said to me, “Take a look at this.” And he opens up one of the drawers and pulls out someone else’s bread board. He said something to the effect of “Look what they are doing in the other class. Isn’t this something?” Most of our bread boards had a few resistors, a light bulb, some capacitors maybe. But this board he pulled out was covered with weird looking components I had never seen before. Likely they were some of the early IC chips. And there were so many wires on the back of the board that it looked like a bird’s nest. This student was very serious about trying to explain to me what the students in the other class were doing with this board because he was excited about it. But I did not even know what those weird components were or what they did. I was a licensed Ham Radio operator and had built my own Heathkit transmitter so I knew a little bit about electronics. But at the time I was more interested in motorcycles and running on the track team at Homestead High, than circuit design. So it just kind of went over my head.
<o:p></o:p>