IfBold/IsBold ???

gazza52

I have what I thought would be a simple task however, as I cannot find any info on it, I may be wrong.

The scanario is a large list of competitors playing a knockout competition (Golf). I only want to write their names once so I thought I could list each match (2 players) and as a player wins his match I would change his name to bold (ie CTL + B). This would then automatically carry over to the next match.

With the above in mind, below is an example of a match where Players 1 and 3 would be "bold" in column A. C3 and C4 would have the formula to select the players who name is in bold:

(A1) Player 1
(A2) Player 2
>>>>>>>>>> (C3) Player 1
>>>>>>>>>> (C4) Player 3
(A5) Player 3
(A6) Player 4

I Have been trying various formulas using IfBold and IsBold and have tried some of the UDF's from the forum but I am at the headbanging stage. Any assistance would be appreciated. I am not very experienced with Visual Basic if the help goes in that direction.

:banghead:

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Hello,

Could you not use CONDITIONAL FORMATTING where in cell A1 you have the CONDITION as

Formula is =B3=CELL("contents",A1)

A2 CONDITION as

Formula is = B3=CELL("contents",A2)

A5 CONDITION is

Formula is = B5=CELL("contents",A4)

and A6 CONDITION is

Formula is = B3=CELL("contents",A5)

You can then use the format painter for other cells.

Upvote 0
Thanks for your input Onlyadrafter however, I do not think I explained my problem very well. So I have included a quick and dirty abbreviation table of what I want below.
Book2.xls
ABCDEFGHIJK
1Player1Player1
2Player2Player2
3Player1
4Player4
5Player3Player3
6Player4Player4
7Player4
8Player6
9Player5Player5
10Player6Player6
11Player6
12Player7
13Player7Player7
14Player8Player8
17Example1-AfterinitialDrawbeforeanygamesplayed.Example2-After2matches.ThewinnersofeachmatcharemadeboldbyCtlB.
Sheet1