Conditional formatting

MitchS

Lets see how I can explain this...I'm not good with XL formulas at all! I have a XL sheet I use for horse racing. Lots of numerical data on this sheet. I export the data from MS Access onto an XL sheet. A guy helped me with a formula that separates the races so I have a header on top of each race. Once the races are separated with headers on top I then copy and paste into a fresh XL sheet away form the sheet with the seperator code.

Here's what I want to do. I want to automatically highlight the top 3 numerical values in each race on various columns.

Now I know how to get the TOP RANKED highlighted IF the whole XL sheet was just ONE RACE...BUT my XL sheet gets separated into may 10 races AND I also want the top 3 highlighted not just the top one.

IF the sheet was one race and I Just wanted the top ranking I could use this...

"Equal to" =MAX($A$1:$A$200)

That would give me the top ranking on the whole sheet BUT....

The problem is that each sheet is separated in maybe 10 races so there is no EXACT constant with the column numbers as they change slightly with I seperate the races.

My question then is it possible to highlight the top 3 numerical values on a XL sheet where the column numbers are not constant as they change slightly when I separate the races for day to day use. The reason this is, is because there is no constant on the number of horses in each race.

Make sense? Is this possible?

Mitch

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK