Conditional formatting based on meeting multiple criteria

jlofthouse

I am trying to do conditional formatting based on multiple criteria with some success, but cannot figure the whole thing out.

So far I've entered and been successful with the first 2 criteria using the following, but cannot get the 3rd criteria to work.
Criteria 1: =ISBLANK($F$2)
Criteria 2: =NOT(ISBLANK($F$2))

I also know that more than 3 criteria has to be done through VBA, but since I can't even get a 3rd basic criteria to work so I'm stuck. Most of what I've learned in Excel is self taught through trial and error so any help on figuring out the 3rd criteria as well as help on the more complicated VBA approach would be REALLY appreciated. I've searched the forums and have gotten lost amidst all the great advice on this board.

Here goes....

I have 5 columns (column E thru I) with the following headers: not programmed (E); programmed (F); notified (G); form sent (H); form returned (I). I want the whole row's writing to change color for certain instances and/or to also highlight if it meets other criteria.

1. if neither column E or F of a given row are populated (by an x"), I want row's writing to be Gray
  2. if column F is populated, I want the writing for the entire row to change from grey to Black
  3. If column G (in addition to column F) are populated, I want the writing for the entire row to change to Red
  4. If column H is also populated (along with F & G), I want the whole row to "highlight yellow"
  5. If column I of is also populated (along with F, G & H), then I want the whole row to "highlight green (with black writing)"
Thanks ever so much in advance to anyone who can help me out,

Julie

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
Hi and welcome to the Board!!