using access database with excel

Beamer

Hi all .

I have been up and down the forum for the last hours but do not seem to find the right answer to my problem. :oops: Recently I started experimenting with linking databases to my excel file. No need to say I am an absolute newB to this.

This is the scenario :

I have an access database (maintained by someone else & residing on a network) that is used for x-reference. Structure is known.

I my excel sheet , I have the values for lookup in lets say column A.
Column B holds the pasted and matching data from Access.

I know that I can import the data from Access with get external but I dont want to do this. I want to use the data right from Access without first copying it into excel and doing a lookup function.

If anyone got a good piece of VBA for this, I would appreciate it. Any other suggestions are always welcome (y)
[/img]

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
There is no need for VBA. Use Data | Import External Data > New database query... | follow the directions in MS Query and create a parameterized query. When you return to XL, XL will offer you a choice of (a) always use the same constant, (b) ask the user for the criterion value, or (c) get it from a particular cell. If the last, you will also be asked if you want an automatic update whenever the cell value changes.

Upvote 0
Thanks fo the reply. My problem remains that if I use the function of the shelf, I can not define the cell to be used as reference. It only gives you where you want to put the data and in what way.

So what I need is sheet1 a2 has a name , I want to use that value (cell) to return a value from the database.

Am I doing something wrong ? any other ideas ?

Upvote 0
Please read my initial response closely. You can specify a cell as the argument for a parameterized query.

Upvote 0