SQL vs MACROS

GlennG

Board Regular
Hello all,

I'm new to Access and I want to get user opiniions about which is the best method to manipulate data in Access. Is SQL a better alternative or are macros ? I love VBA for Excell ; can I find bliss with Access ? Or do I have to start over with SQL ?

Thanks for your comments... :confused:

Excel Facts

Waterfall charts in Excel?
Office 365 customers have access to Waterfall charts since late 2016. They were added to Excel 2019.
Both have there own part to play and you will find that you will end up with both.

VBA is fine for functions and manipulating the appearence of theings but when you want to work on whole sets of data then SQL is much faster.

The easiest way to see how SQL works is to create queries that do more or less what you want, then go into the SQL view of the query and copy the SQL from there and modify it to suit your needs for VBA.

Shout if you need help with any particular item.

Peter

Upvote 0
A little terminology

SQL mainly refers to a mostly universal language syntax to work with databases. To the best of my knowledge, all versions are similar, if not identical in syntax structure. Once you learn one, you have a major headstart learning others. Unless you're working interactively only, most of the time you end up including SQL within what you're calling 'macros' to achieve a desired result.

Macros, in my opinion, is a dated term and 'old functionality'. The actual implementation within Access97+ is really a partial-step towards VBA programming. Although you can specify a series of actions to be performed, you lack the ability to handle errors, or handle branching logic.