NEW JOB TEST

EXCELRATED1

Hi all--

This group was recommended to me. I am currently a novice with Excel. The most elaborate thing I can do is a Vlookup/Hlookup. I must take a test in order to be considered for a new position in HR. I was told that the test was on some kind of Excel Test program. The test is next week. Is there any tips you can give me? WHat I can expect? IS there just a handful of Excel Testing software?

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
I do not know of any standard excel testing software, but I haven't really looked for if. In my experience as a consultant, I've found that most of these type test involve nothing more than formatting, simple Functions(such as Sum), maybe calculating an average, sorting, and perhaps filtering. In my opinion, the real test is designed to see HOW you think in addressing problems in Excel, not so much the solution itself. So, DON'T PANIC.

This is, of course, only my opinion, and I could be wrong!

lenze

My two cents worth...

If, by cramming on excel for a few days, you can pass a test that you would otherwise fail, then either the test is poor, or the level required to pass is so low that you should be able to pass it if you're at the 'vlookup stage'.

That said, I would:

1) Take a half hour or so to remind myself of what each and every menu option did & where it was; look up in the help files / search the board for those that you're not sure about (e.g. do you know what insert | name | create is for?)

2) Devote another hour or so to browsing through the posts here. Check out the questions, think how you'd go about answering them, then see how they actually progressed - why not even answer a few from scratch!

Best of luck with the job.

Hi EXCELRATED1, Welcome To The Board,

Just as Lenze says " Dont Panic !! "