Adding time (as decimals if possible) into exel

blsandy

I am a teacher and I have a timeclock for my students, this is how they clock their hours in. Then I take their hours from the timeclock and enter the hours and minutes and add each day together to get their total hours for a week or even more.

For example I have a student who has aquired these hours and I would like to add them together.

(4.00, 4.05, 1.20, 4.00)

I would be great if they could stay in decimal if they can't thats fine also. I just need a way to add them up. If anyone can help I would be forever greatfull, I have been messing with it for 3 days and reading everything.

Please Help, Brett Sandy

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Hi Brett,

It is not clear to me whether you are having the students enter their times as Excel time values (e.g., 4:10 or 4 hours and 10 minutes), or as decimal hours (e.g., 4.10, or 4 hours and 6 minutes). Of course, if the latter you should be able to simply add them up and display the total as decimal hours. But if the former and you want to display the total in decimal hours you have to recognize that internally Excel represents all date-time values in units of days, so that you must multiply by 24 to get a value in hours. So for example if you want to sum the Excel time values in range A1:A10 but display the result not as a time value but as decimal hours, your formula should be

=SUM(A1:A10) * 24

AND you must format this cell not as Time but as a number (e.g., "General").

Does this help?

Damon

Upvote 0
Before I started using excel I would use the decimal (e.g. 3.45 to equal 3 hours and 45 minutes) And then I would take the steps to convert the minutes to hours after I added.